The PetrolPlaza audio version is presented to you by UNITI expo 2021, the leading retail petroleum and car wash trade fair in Europe.

English Español USA: Kum & Go debuts new walk-up concept store

The 60-year-old convenience chain opens in its hometown Des Moines, Iowa, the first urban non-fuel store in its network of 400 sites.

Last update:
Author: PetrolPlaza Correspondent Pablo Plaza

Kum & Go opened this week the doors of its first-ever no-fuel, no-parking retail walk-up store in its hometown Des Moines, Iowa. The 3,000-square-foot store is located downtown in the newly renovated Edna Griffin Building, a landmark site in Iowa’s civil rights history.

“Kum & Go is a brand built on convenience,” said Kum & Go President, Tanner Krause. “How do we make it easier and easier for customers to interact with us? With more and more customers living and working downtown, putting a store in the heart of Des Moines allows Kum & Go to be even more convenient for our community.”

The walk-up store features freshly prepared foods, a large assortment of beverages, healthy snacks, as well as health products, phone accessories, and craft beers and wines. Recycled paper bags will be provided instead of plastic, and compostable silverware and straws, recyclable cups and lids, and post-consumer recycled food packaging.

This pilot location pays tribute to the legacy of Edna Griffin, the civil rights pioneer and human rights activist, with an art installation by Jordan Weber, a Des Moines-based artist and activist whose work focuses on inner-city communities nationwide.

“We’re especially happy to have this store in the Edna Griffin building, the site of a pivotal moment in our country’s civil rights struggle,” continued Krause. “In 1948, the store in this space became notorious as a symbol of exclusion and prejudice. I’m honored that Kum & Go is in this same space, 70 years later, our doors proudly open to everyone.”

Des Moines based Kum & Go was born in 1959 and has since grown to operate 400 stores in 11 states: Iowa, Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wyoming.

Related contents