

Spain: Repsol unable to expand in 28 provinces due to dominance

As the leading fuel retailer in Spain, Repsol already surpasses the 30% market share regional limit established by the government.

Repsol will not be able to increase the number of sites in 28 of Spain's 50 provinces for a whole year as it already owns more a 30% market share in them.

According to the Spanish competition laws, which stablish that an operator cannot hold more than a 30% market share in a single province, Repsol will only be able to grow its presence in 22 provinces.

The 28 provinces are Albacete, Asturias, Ávila, Islas Baleares, Cáceres, Cantabria, Ciudad Real, Córdoba, A Coruña, Cuenca, Guadalajara, Huesca, Lleida, Lugo, Madrid, Ourense, Palencia, Pontevedra, La Rioja, Segovia, Soria, Teruel, Toledo, Valladolid and Vizcaya, as well as the islands of Formentera, Ibiza and Mallorca.

Only two other operators that also beat the 30% limit in areas of Spain. Oil company Cepsa will be unable to open new sites in Melilla and the islands of Formentera, Ibiza and Menorca; while Disa cannot expand any further in the Canary Islands.

Last update: December 28, 2018